Where Were You, Lord?

When my siblings and I were really young, we considered ourselves pretty well off. We had really nice clothes and we stood out among our peers. We studied in one of the best schools in the province. And it was not cheap. We had the latest toys, the best that money could buy. We could afford all these because my mom was the vice president of a huge insurance company. Then, that fateful day came when my mom lost her job. Her name was dragged into a civil case and she was accused as an accomplice in embezzlement of funds from the company. We had to use all our resources to prove my mom’s innocence. We were left with very little resources and very little faith.

Where were you, Lord?

Help came in the most unexpected places. Relatives and friends offered help in every way possible. They took care of us and our needs. Aunts helped us with our tuition. Our grandfather helped with our daily expenses. We felt important. We felt loved.  It was much more than the clothes, toys and status could ever have given.

He was there. He was teaching us lessons on humility and materialism.

~

I was fresh out of college. I graduated in one of the top universities in the country. And I graduated with honors. I felt invincible. It felt like I could do anything! I would achieve it all! But I got sick. I went to several different doctors. They could not find what was wrong with me. Eventually, they found out that I had an autoimmune disease. I was told I could never work. There were a lot of times I cried myself to sleep.

Where were you, Lord?

My mom was there with me through every checkup and every laboratory examination. Even when giving up seemed like the easiest thing in the world, she remained strong for me. My family was there to make me feel loved and cared for. Friends, even those I haven’t seen or talked to for a while, came and spent time with me. I eventually got better and was able to work. But much more than that, I learned that achieving it all was not as important as nurturing the relationships I have been blessed with.

He was there. He was telling me to not take anything for granted.

~

I landed my first job in a government office in the province. I was doing okay. The workload was a bit scarce. The boss was lenient. The people were nice. I could do more but there was nothing much to do. Why change anything? I was comfortable and the office was just nearby. Then, the head of the office was replaced. Along with him, some people’s contracts were terminated along with mine. It was so sudden. I was devastated.

Where were you, Lord?

I got another job that was beyond what I wished for. It was far away from home but I was invigorated. I looked forward to going to work. Every minute of my every day was put to good use. I became exposed to a lot of challenges. I learned more in my first month there than I had in a year’s work in my previous job. And I realized that by not using them, I have been wasting all the abilities I have been graciously blessed with.

He was there. He was pushing me to do greater and harder things.

~

He was. He is. He will always be there.

*This is in response to Blogging University’s Writing 101, Day 13: Compose a series of vignettes

Leave a Reply

