Of Bucket Lists and Miracles

I have always wanted to visit the National Shrine of Divine Mercy in Marilao, Bulacan for a number of reasons. For one, it is located in my home province and I occasionally encounter a pang of guilt for having visited other places first. Also, it has been a popular place for miracles. And who doesn’t want a miracle?

Last Sunday, I finally got to visit the place. I can slash that one in my bucket list. It was a good thing that there were jeepneys going directly to the church from Malolos Central Terminal. And they pass by the North Luzon Expressway so the journey was fast. 

I got to explore the place. It is huge and immensely beautiful. There are several places where the masses are held, a small cave-like place with religious artifacts, a small park, a souvenir shop and a humongous parking space.

I got to attend mass there, too. I don’t know where it came from but there is this belief that when you visit a church for the first time, you get a wish. I fervently prayed for a miracle.

Leave a Reply

