Real Cheesy

“Anything worth doing is worth doing well.” -Barbara Ehrenreich

This was the second playdate my cousin and I had. She has been enjoying learning how to make different kinds of baked goodies. And I have been enjoying helping her.

This time, we tried our hands at creating cheese cupcakes. It turned out beautifully and deliciously.

Like the previous time, she was in charge of the measuring and the baking proper. I was in charge of the fun stuff like grating the cheese and anything that allows me to use some sort of tool or thingamajig.

I grated that cheese like my life depended on it.

She measured and scaled those ingredients like a rocket scientist.

I beated those eggs as if they were a work-of-art.

She watched the baking of those cupcakes like a hawk.

And we cleaned our hands as if we were surgeons ready to operate.

I can say with certainty that we do work well together. You can call it perfectionism, obsessive compulsiveness, or both. We wouldn’t mind. We are just firm believers that “Anything worth doing is worth doing well.” Whenever we take on a task, we rarely leave things to fate. We know we can’t control everything but we do take charge of those things we can. No wonder we are closer to each other than most of our other cousins.

Leave a Reply

