Do Something That Scares You

Sandbox-Pampanga-aerial-walk-2.JPG

What have I gotten myself into?!?

There I was, a few feet up in the air, balancing myself on a long metal cable tied between two wooden posts while supporting myself using ropes hanging from above. My heart was pounding. My knees were trembling. And my mind was tired from all the questions on constant repeat in my head.

What was I thinking? Why did I ever decide to go on an obstacle course high up in the air when I was clearly afraid of heights?

Why did I ever feel the need to conquer my fears? Why does anyone?

I had to silence my thoughts if I were to survive successfully finish the course. I tried to keep calm and keep moving. Luckily, the last parts of the course were ziplines down. They were as scary but at least I didn’t have to do anything after the initial jump. After finishing the course, all the color returning to my face, and the blood returning to my brain, I was relieved. And I was ecstatic. That was a lot of fun! Scary but a lot of fun.

My mind finally went back to rational thinking. Our fears are there for a reason. They keep us from doing something dangerous. But too much of anything is bad. And more often than not, most fears are acquired from the people and experiences around us even if they have no merit to be in our own lives. That was how it was for me. I had a lot of fears that did not come from any significant past event. So, why do I try to conquer my fears? To be able to distinguish those that I really should be scared of and those that I shouldn’t.

If you are anything like me, just plain fearful of a lot of things, you should give Sandbox in Porac, Pampanga (or any similar adventure) a try. If you really commit to push through them, your fears would be able to help it and take a step back.

The Aerial Walk, Giant Swing, and the Zipline are great adventures to try. And while you are there, it would be fun to try the outdoor archery as well.

Leave a Reply

