Weekend Blues

Heavy traffic greeted me on my way home (I live in the city during weekdays because of work. I go to my hometown in the province during weekends.) I had to walk a few blocks, maneuver through a lot of hurried people, and cross an overpass just to get to the bus stop.

All buses headed to my hometown were filled overflowing with people excited to go home after a long week. I had to take another jeepney ride to go the bus terminal where I might have better luck in going home.

The line was really long. I had to wait for three buses before I got to go on board one. I was really hungry, too. I can’t wait to reach home.

I arrived at last. Everyone was already sleeping. I silently went in.

Food was on the table and it was all for me. It wasn’t just any food. It was pizza! And pizza is love! I took my pizza, sat beside my already dreaming sister and watched Grey’s Anatomy.

That was Friday. And I thought to myself, “It was all good.”

 

I woke up and looked at a list of chores I had to accomplish while I was home for the weekend. It was a long list.

I climbed on a table to reach for the clock that read 5:00 since the night before. I carefully took the clock, changed the battery, and put it back while ensuring that it was leveled.

I slowly took out pieces of twigs and leaves that birds collected on two of the windows on the second floor. It didn’t help that it was really hot that day.

I washed my dirty shoes, updated my personal budget (Yes, I have one on Excel and I follow it religiously), rearranged some personal files, read personal emails, and arranged the house.

I checked off one chore after another. And almost the entire day had gone by just like that. I was tired. And I was still not finished.

My brother came home. He doesn’t come home regularly due to his busy schedule. We all took time to catch up. We discussed about our different viewpoints on Survivor and agreed that we are all for Arizona instead of Callie in this recent fight. We debated about our different bets for President this coming elections. We talked about our sister’s love life which she rarely shares. We got to know more about each other even if we have lived together most of our lives. A cousin who recently graduated came and brought some delicious food. We all ate dinner and he joined in the discussion.

That was Saturday. And I thought to myself, “It was all good.”

 

My siblings left early in the morning and went back to the city. I left at about 7:30 in the evening. Buses were all full. I waited for almost an hour and I still haven’t found any public vehicle to take me back to the city. I was wondering if I should just go back home and leave in the morning instead.

I couldn’t take the risk of reporting late for work the following morning. I had to find another way. I rode a jeepney farther away from the city just to get to somewhere with less commuters. I waited. And waited.

I was able to ride a public utility vehicle al last. The driver says that there was heavy traffic in the expressway. Wait, what? Traffic in the expressway? That has become more and more common recently.

The driver decided to take another route wherein we have to pass through smaller roads with a lot of establishments and people walking nearby. It took a lot of time. And patience.

I arrived in the city at 10:30 in the evening. The less-than-an-hour car ride took 3 hours by commute. I was exhausted.

Then, I realized that a month ago I wouldn’t have had this problem. I would be sleeping soundly at home or in front of the TV or in my comfy bed. But then, I wouldn’t have had work the following day. The long commute meant I had work. I earned money for my needs and for the needs of the people I love. I get to see my friends in the city more frequently. I get to use more of my skills and talents. I get to have new experiences. I get to meet new people. I get to grow and learn and be a better version of myself. So, what was a few more hours of commute each week compared to everything I have gained? Absolutely nothing.

That was Sunday. And I thought to myself, “It was all good.”

 

“IT WAS ALL VERY GOOD.”

 

 

 

One thought on “Weekend Blues

Leave a Reply

