Love Lives

I saw this video with a blindfolded guy
Beside him was a large sign
“I’m Muslim and people call me terrorist,” it said
“Do you trust me? If yes, hug me,” I read
“Well, this is weird” was my first thought
But I kept on watching and waiting like a tot

One by one, they slowly came
These wonderful people who had no shame
They gave the guy a tight hug
And one full of love, may I add
Tears came rolling down my eyes
And to myself, it came as a surprise

Why was I crying? What was it about what they did?
Now, I feel like the one who’s weird
Was it the pain I carry everyday?
Was it the things I can never really say?
Was it all that’s happening in the world today?
Was it the fear of a future full of disarray?

After the tears came a feeling of relief
Then came that indescribable feeling of peace
For now, I have been reassured and reminded
There is still a lot of good in this planet
When you need it the most, love will always find a way
Even when you’re hopeless, even from the unlikely places

Leave a Reply

